NEWS: Squad retained list for 2017/18 season

NEWS: Squad retained list for 2017/18 season

The club is pleased to announce the retained list for next season in the Vanarama National League North.

Goalkeeper Daniel Lowson and striker Glen Taylor both signed new one-year contract extensions this week, which will keep them at the club until at least May 2018.

Meanwhile, left back Ian Watson has left the club after his contract was not renewed.

Manager Jason Ainsley said: "Both Dan and Glen have been key players for us over the past two seasons that have helped us achieve promotion, so we’re delighted to announce that they’ve extended their contracts for another year, with a year's option. 

"They’ve both proved to be top Northern Premier League players and are looking forward to testing themselves in the National League North next season, where I fully expect them to be successes again.  Glen has attracted interest from a number of higher league clubs, so securing his signature was a real bonus. 

“We’d like to wish Ian Watson all the very best in his future career after it was decided not to renew his contract.  He has given 18 months of excellent service to Spennymoor Town and was a great character to have around the club.  I’m sure he’ll continue to be successful wherever he decides to play next – he won’t be short of offers.”

The retained list is as follows:

Daniel Lowson
Kallum Griffiths
Christopher Mason
Joseph Tait
James Curtis
Adam Mitchell
Andrew Johnson
Jamie Chandler
Mark Anderson
Robert Ramshaw
Shane Henry
David Dowson
Glen Taylor
Graeme Armstrong
Nathan Fisher