NEWS: Moors face Stockport on opening day as fixtures are announced

NEWS: Moors face Stockport on opening day as fixtures are announced

Spennymoor Town will begin life in the National League North with a mouthwatering game against Stockport County at Brewery Field.

The Vanarama National League fixtures, which were released today, threw up some interesting games as the club prepare to embark on their maiden season at Step 6 of the Football League pyramid.

Stockport County were applying their trade in League Two as recent as 2011, the same year which Moors won their second successive Northern League Division One title.

Moors first away trip sees them make the journey to the North West to face F.C. United of Manchester, with trips to Boston United and Brackley Town quickly following.

August Bank Holiday may prove to be one of the most exciting weekend's of the season, as Moors play host to Salford City and make the short trip to rivals Darlington in the space of three days. Spennymoor play host to The Quakers on Easter Monday.

York City, who were relegated from League Two a year ago, will visit Brewery Field in early September, with the return fixture in late January.

Blyth Spartans, who are returning to the National League after a five year absence, feature heavily around Moors Christmas fixtures, with the away leg on Boxing day followed up by the home tie on New Years Day.

The end of season run-in includes home games against North Ferriby United and Southport, alongside a trip to Curzon Ashton.

Moors manager Jason Ainsley spoke of his excitement as the season was mapped out. He said, "It's brilliant to get such a massive club like Stockport on opening day.

"No doubt it will be a sell out at Brewery Field. It's a fixture that which will generate excitement in the town over the next few weeks and one the management and players will relish.

"August is a testing month with games against FC United of Manchester, Boston United and Salford City, but we will be ready for the challenge."

With some big derby days ahead, he also spoke of his excitement ahead of games against Darlington, York City and Blyth Spartans.

"The derby days will be brilliant for the fans and the town. To get Darlington and York so early in the season is great. Those are the days which we have earned over last season.

"Seeing the teams we are facing puts it into perspective just how far we have come as a club in a short space of time.

"It's important that the people of Spennymoor get behind us In what's going to be a tremendously difficult but exciting season."

 

SPENNYMOOR TOWN 2017/18 FIXTURE LIST

Saturday 5th August                        Stockport County                             H

Tuesday 8th August                          FC United of Manchester              A

Saturday 12th August                      Boston United                                   A

Tuesday 15th August                       Bradford Park Avenue                   H

Saturday 19th August                      Brackley Town                                   A

Saturday 26th August                      Salford City                                        H

BH Monday 28th August                Darlington                                           A

Saturday 2nd September               Gainsborough Trinity                     H

Tuesday 5th September                 York City                                              H

Saturday 9th September                Tamworth                                           A

Tuesday 12th September               North Ferriby United                      A

Saturday 16th September                                                                                              Emirates FA Cup 2nd Qualifying

Saturday 23rd September             Alfreton Town                                   H

Saturday 30th September                                                                                              Emirates FA Cup 3rd Qualifying

Saturday 7th October                      Southport                                           A

Saturday 14th October                   Curzon Ashton                                  H             Emirates FA Cup 4th Qualifying

Saturday 21st October                    Kidderminster Harriers                  A

Saturday 28th October                   Chorley                                                H

Saturday 4th November                 Nuneaton Town                                               A             Emirates FA Cup 1st Round

Saturday 11th November              Harrogate Town                               H

Saturday 18th November              Leamington                                        A            

Saturday 25th November                                                                                              Buildbase FA Trophy 3rd Qualifying

Saturday 2nd December                AFC Telford United                         H            

Saturday 9th December                  Stockport County                             A            

Saturday 16th December                                                                                               Buildbase FA Trophy 1st Round

Saturday 23rd December               FC United of Manchester             H            

Tuesday 26th December                Blyth Spartans                                   A            

BH Monday 1st January                 Blyth Spartans                                   H            

Saturday 6th January                       Bradford Park Avenue                   A            

Saturday 13th January                    Boston United                                  H             Buildbase FA Trophy 2nd Round

Saturday 20th January                     York City                                              A            

Saturday 27th January                    Tamworth                                           H            

Saturday 3rd February                     Chorley                                                A             Buildbase FA Trophy 3rd Round

Saturday 10th February                  Kidderminster Harriers                 H            

Saturday 17th February                  Nuneaton Town                               H            

Saturday 24th February                  Harrogate Town                               A            

Saturday 3rd March                         Leamington                                        H            

Saturday 10th March                       AFC Telford United                          A            

Saturday 17th March                       Salford City                                         A            

Saturday 24th March                       Brackley Town                                  H            

Saturday 31st March                        Gainsborough Trinity                      A

BH Monday 2nd April                      Darlington                                          H

Saturday 7th April                              Alfreton Town                                   A            

Saturday 14th April                          North Ferriby United                     H            

Saturday 21st April                            Curzon Ashton                                  A            

Saturday 28th April                          Southport                                           H                            

Wednesday 2nd May                                                                                                       Play Off Qualifying Round

Sunday 6th May                                                                                                                 Play Off Semi Final                         

Saturday 12th May                                                                                                           Play Off Final    

 

Please note that Saturday and Bank Holiday games will kick off at 3pm and midweek games will kick off at 7:45pm. Our midweek home games will be played on a Tuesday evening